Get a Job, Griffin!

by Griffin O'Hara


First of all, apologies for the last blog post. Just a bunch of thinly disguised bragging.

But then, isn’t much of blogging/online life the same? Guess I had to prove something to myself, to present myself as busy and accomplished. Did I succeed? Doesn’t matter.

Soo, what have I been up to lately? Work. A lot of it. The work at MHYC is tough stuff. We’re working in Ute Valley Park, but it seems like that project is allllmost over. Which is sweet. Damn you, hills, I’ll miss trudging up you with a couple armfuls of lumber. The job itself ends November 7th. Sheeeit.

Been putting a bit of thought into what I want to do next. I think forestry, or working outside is something I’d really appreciate, and enjoy. So, I’ve been researching a bit towards that end, and am trying to line up the appropriate jobs/experience before netting some kind of forestry job. When I talk about interest in a career, conservation is the name of the game.

I want a job that I can justify. A job that at the end of the day, I can say: I made something better. And there are few jobs with more direct impact than a humanitarian, or an environmental job. Though I think we would not need environmental jobs in the first place, had we not massively fucked everything up (and are still continuing to do so).

People are not exactly my strength, so that’s right out. I guess environment is it, then.

But honestly, I really enjoy being outside. I enjoy the moral superiority I have over everybody else, too. That too.

