Movies

by Griffin O'Hara


So, I have been on a serious, serious movie binge lately. Here are the ones I’ve watched in a month or so (with exception for awesome movies), in roughly chronological order. I wrote a few words beneath the ones I figured were worth watching/talking about.

Protip: Have IMDB open as you’re reading this.

Bunraku

Movie was alright. Seemed like some kind of cross between a play/movie, and a western/samurai film. Interesting, but wouldn’t particularly recommend.

Man of Steel

Batman is better, Superman is such a wuss.

Synecdoche, New York (rewatch)

First time I watched this, I didn’t understand anything. Second time I watched this, I didn’t understand anything. Well, a little more the second time. Philip Seymour Hoffman stars, and Charlie Kaufman directs, pretty much the dream team.

I watched this as a black comedy the second time around (though I don’t think it fits in any particular genre), and got more out of it that way. Fans of absurd/existential/meta/post whatever stuff will like this.

Leviathan

This movie was such a slap to the face, definitely recommend. Basically a wordless documentary of the “routine” on a commercial trawler. Kind of a hellish watch, felt like I was becoming some kind of animal. The camera work in this is amazing and really makes you question what would otherwise seem like the mundane.

Trollhunter

Trolls! Pretty interesting.

Locke

Actually, a lot better than I thought. I love Tom Hardy, and the movie was interesting, given that it’s only one person, one car. It did stretch things out at times, but was earnest enough to be believeable, and alllmost like something that could happen to an everyday person.

Is the Man Who is Tall Happy?

Chomsky! Gondry! Once you get into the movie, it’s a really good watch. Definitely recommend this. Chomsky is so good at making you think, and Gondry does a great job of not only explaining the way Chomsky thinks, but also telling the story of their meetings.

Obvious Child

Surprisingly good. Gave me the warm fuzzies, which is difficult to do. Good take on the one-night stand “film” that blends both realism and the fuzzy feelings that you want.

Big Trouble in Little China

I feel like Kurt Russell in this movie is the genesis of the bumbling, witty hero (like Chris Pratt in Guardians of the Galaxy, RDJr as Ironman, Depp as Captain Jack Sparrow) of course, I have no proof of that. Regardless, this film would be great to watch with friends and some beer. Recommend.

Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure

I was actually kind of disappointed by this movie, given it’s cult classic status. Still pretty good, though.

Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World (rewatch)

Edgar Wright, I would like to declare my undying love for you. Actually watched the Extras on this thing. Strongly recommend.

Bigger, Stronger, Faster

Steroids? Steroids! First time I tried this, I wasn’t too into it. But I picked this one up from the middle, and finished it. Solid documentary that gives a fair shake to the reasons why one would use anabolic steroids.

House of Cards (Seasons 1&2)

This show actually made me miss DC a bit, something that I did not think was possible. I feel like the stylistic touch kind of puttered out once David Fincher left as director, but I have a new respect for Kevin Spacey. Sometimes the show does go too far in order to get cheap thrills, and the second season wasn’t as tightly written as the first. However, would definitely recommend.

Guardians of the Galaxy

The epitome of a summer blockbuster. Plot, explosions, jokes, sadness, and the fuzzies. Recommend (but you’ve probably watched this).

Lawless

Sooo disappointed. Also, the wardrobe irritated the hell out of me. Who dresses like that? The writing did too, actually. Damn you, Lawless. So much wasted potential.

The One I Love

This is such an indie movie. Buuuut also sci-fi? Quite the thinker. Recommend.

Dredd

Judge, jury, and executioner. Do you like shoot ’em ups? You’ll like this.

Also: how did Karl Urban manage to keep that scowl through the entire film? I feel like there would be cramping involved.

Charlie Countryman

One of the strongest movies I’ve seen, stylistically speaking. Shia LeBeouf was pretty aight, Mads Mikkelsen was awesome as usual (you goddamn jackass), and Rupert Grint makes a great character. Felt like the whole movie did a really good job: camera work, music, acting, and writing was really well done. I do feel like it fell a teensy tinsy bit short of what it could have been, but I’m not sure what I’m grounding that feeling on. Definitely recommend. You’re in for a treat.

Mud

Even more respect for the career transformation of McConaughey. I feel like I knew a few people like Mud himself. Quite a pleasure to watch. Story got kind of obvious towards the end, though.

Joe

Nick Cage, goddamn you. I don’t know what to think about you. Really good movie. Mud and Joe both pair together well, and I can’t put one above the other. I think there was better acting in Mud, but Joe had the writing.

X-Men: Days of Future Past

Ah, X-Men, how far you’ve come. Solid.

HIMYM (Season 9)

I’ve mentioned many times that Jason Segel is my man-crush. Slap-bet was hilarious as always. But my god, who fucked up the ending? Terrible.

Edge of Tomorrow

Tom Cruise with another solid sci-fi movie. Was weird seeing Emily Blunt act like a hardass. Still not quite sure I believe it.

Filth

What in the world happened with this movie? So strange. James McAvoy pulls this one off brilliantly. Recommend for the strangeness and the acting, but still have mixed feelings about the directing.

In a World…

Solid 3.5/4 stars out of five. Fred Melamed was hilarious. Lake Bell made her character seem like a real person.

Killing Them Softly

Sucker for this kind of stylish/Guy Ritchie-esque gangster flick. Brad Pitt. Strongly recommend.

Blue Ruin

I liked it initially, but after a while, I kind of liked it less the more time passed.

Sabotage

The crew is a bunch of badasses. Schwarzenegger. Just a fun watch.

Mad Max

I accidentally started the Mad Max trilogy with  the last film in the series, so I wasn’t as impressed by this one.

Horns

Daniel Radcliffe pulls this role off. Pretty safe movie. Felt like it was overreaching a lot, and didn’t do a good job setting itself up.

Frank

Why the hell are these guys not a real band? I had no idea Fassbender was Frank. Loved the writing. Apparently based on a true story, so I’ll have to do some research on this. Overall a really, really good film, and one of my favorites of the lot. Recommend.

The Rover

I watched this movie in two parts. Pretty solid, but definitely picked up speed towards the end. Apocalyptic movies haven’t yet gotten old. But they will pretty damn soon.

Only Lovers Left Alive

Jim Jarmusch, thank you for being a director. Very good film. I would have a hard time recommending it, though. It doesn’t pack the punch that a blockbuster would, so you have to wait for your gratification with this one. But if you want to wait, and if you like vampires, watch.

The Station Agent

Sooooo good. Peter Dinklage. Do you really need another reason to watch this? Strongly recommend.

Nymphomaniac Vol I. (And some of Vol. II)

Uhhhhhh, so. Yeah. Actually a great discussion of sex. Loved the Seligman [played by Stellan Skarsgard (you’ll know him when you see him)] character, even though he was not realistic at allllll. There’s a hell of a lot to talk about in this movie. Which is the beauty of a Lars von Trier film.

And Lars: No, you will not stop being creative because you stopped drinking (dumbass).

Under the Skin

Scarlett Johannsson, we can all safely agree is a babe. She kicks ass in this movie, and makes you remember that she can actually act pretty damn well. This movie is a great sci-fi movie. Nooooo plot. So much style, and I feel like it’s a practice in theory. That’s okay, though, if you direct a movie like this. Theorize away. Definitely recommend.

Neighbors

COMEDIES ARE THE BEST

22 Jump Street

COMEDIES ARE THE BEST

Bullhead

Actually watched this last summer. I really enjoyed it. Dark, intense movie with fucking incredible acting by Matthias Schoenaerts. Interesting twist to this movie that really makes you think about the characters. Recommend.

What is with all these Scandinavian sounding actors? Whatever it is, keep doing it.

Jodorowsky’s Dune

Jodorowsky is so enthusiastic. I love this guy. Wish he had directed Dune.

That reminds me, I have to watch The Holy Mountain. How could I not?

Leon: The Professional

Totally deserves it’s cult status. Good movie.

Happy People: A Year in the Taiga

I love Werner Herzog, and I love how… right this movie felt. Strongly recommend.

